Phi Mu was founded in 1852 at Wesleyan College in Macon, Ga. and is the second oldest sorority in the nation. We have provided social opportunities, a support network, and personal enrichment resources to members for over 160 years. In that time over 175,000 Phi Mu women have been vibrant members of college campuses and we have chartered over 247 chapters.
Founded in 1852, Phi Mu is a women’s organization which provides personal and academic development, service to others, commitment to excellence and lifelong friendship through a shared tradition. Phi Mu promotes vibrant living, encouraging members to achieve their personal best.
Vibrant means having or showing great life, activity, and energy. Phi Mus are engaged citizens who pursue their passions, and, ultimately, make the world a better place.
Phi Mu was founded by Mary Elizabeth Myrick (Daniel), Mary Ann DuPont (Lines) and Martha Bibb Hardaway (Redding).
The Phi Mu Badge is a uniquely shaped shield of gold overlaid with a black shield bearing the two bonds, three stars, a hand clasping a heart and the Greek letters “Phi Mu.”
Rose and White. This choice can be dated back to the early days of the Philomathean Society and was most likely made by the charter members.
The Phi pin (or provisional/new member pin) is a black and gold shield with the Greek letter Φ.
The barbed quatrefoil is Phi Mu’s symbol. It is a unique shape and can be traced back to early European design.
Designed in 1904 by Annie Laurie Mallory (Parker), Alpha, assisted by Louise Monning (Elliott), Alpha.
“Les Soeurs Fideles,” or “The Faithful Sisters.”
The rose-colored carnation. While the rose-colored carnation in the language of flowers refers to “women’s love and sisterhood,” Lillian Estes (Davis), Alpha, Grand Historian 1907-1908, wrote that “pink carnations are, and always have been, the emblematic flower.”
Lions have always been a part of our history and are also shown on our Coat of Arms. Our mascot, which we affectionately call “Sir Fidel,” is a name adapted from our open motto, Les Soeurs Fideles. Sir Fidel was created in 1973.
Phi Mu’s Creed was submitted by sisters of the Mu Chapter and was adopted at the 1916 National Convention. The Creed is credited to Grace Lumpkin, Mu. National President Beth Monnin, P, officially named 2016 “The Year of the Creed” in honor of the Creed’s 100th anniversary.
Phi Mu National Headquarters, located in Peachtree City, Ga., is home to both Phi Mu Fraternity and Phi Mu Foundation. The 31,672 square foot building houses our leadership training center, library, conference rooms, office space and Carnation Collection, the Phi Mu Fraternity boutique. It also contains a museum, displaying many Phi Mu artifacts and memorabilia that span throughout our history.