Phi Mu was founded in 1852 at Wesleyan College in Macon, Georgia.
The first issue of Phi Mu’s magazine, called The Aglaia, was published in May 1907 and has been published continuously ever since.
Phi Mu National Headquarters is home to three organizations: Phi Mu Fraternity, Phi Mu Foundation and Carnation Collection.
Phi Mu officially adopted Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals as its National Philanthropy in 1994 and since collegiate and alumnae have raised more than $14 million #ForTheKids.
To date, Phi Mu has chartered 247 chapters across the United States.
The Cannonball House, which is located in Macon, Georgia is the repository for the Founders’ parlor of the Philomathean Society, recreated from Wesleyan College.
The first Mother’s Club was formed by the Eta Alpha Chapter at the University of California/Berkeley in 1921. Because of high interest by fathers in their daughters’ chapters, mother’s clubs were changed to Parent Associations in 1978.
The Third Dimension Ceremony for graduating seniors was introduced in 1971. It was designed to give members an opportunity to reflect on the importance of Phi Mu and to share that experience before departing. This is an event Phi Mus continue to look forward to that takes place at the end of their graduating semester.
The idea of designing a pin for mothers of Phi Mus was approved at the 1931 National Convention. At the 1934 Convention, the new pin was presented for the first time to 11 Phi Mu mothers in a service in their honor.
The custom of giving as many pennies as Phi Mu’s age on Founders’ Day was adopted at the fifth National Convention, held in August 1913.
Phi Mu is the first NPC group to establish a National Philanthropy Day. Annually, Phi Mus gather and dedicate themselves to “hands on” local community service on the third Monday in October.
Phi Mu is also the first NPC group to establish a National Ritual Celebration Week. Annually, interfraternal organizations are asked to join Phi Mu is embracing their ritual.